Weekly WOAH | Nov 6-12

// Thursday, Nov 6 

EUREKA & the BIOMASS, at 5 Car Garage

EUREKA & the BIOMASS | at 5 Car Garage

  • EUREKA & the BIOMASS, at 5 Car Garage, Santa Monica.
    A ‘Beauty & the Beast’ set in 2100, Megan Daalder’s sci-fi musical follows a human’s love affair with a synthetic organism: ‘the biomass,’ a spectacular behemoth, humanoid puppet.  Performances are sold-out, but meet the biomass today 1-4pm & by appt.  RSVP for location map x info.
    thru Nov 10

// Friday, Nov 7

Fedrik Nilsen on Mike Kelley | at Downtown Photoroom

Fedrik Nilsen’s Mike Kelley doc | at Downtown Photoroom

// Saturday, Nov 8 

2012_05_01_085729_adj2_web

Taking The Waters with HDTS

// Sunday, Nov 9 

Seven Reeds

Seven Reeds | at Overduin & Co.

// Wednesday, Nov 12

// last-looks 

Composite Arcade at Château Shatto

Composite Arcade | at Château Shatto

—Follow us to receive an email when Weekly WOAH posts.  Drop us a line to share your event.  All images courtesy artist x venue listed.

Advertisements

Weekly WOAH | Oct 9-15

// Thursday, Oct 9 

#tbt Scott Benzel at Public Fiction 2012 | at VSF

// Friday, Oct 10 

Expanded Cities | at Curio

// Saturday, Oct 11 

Marjorie Cameron | at MOCA PDC

Marjorie Cameron | at MOCA

// Sunday, Oct 12 

// Tuesday, Oct 14 

thank-you

Empathy/Relic #2 ( detail), 2013 |David Lucien Matheke at CSUN

// Wednesday, Oct 15 

Suzy Poling | at HRLA

Suzy Poling | at HRLA

// last-looks 

Fay Ray | at Samuel Freeman

—Follow our blog to receive an email when Weekly WOAH posts.  Drop us a line to share your event.  All images courtesy artist x venue listed.

Weekly WOAH | Aug 28 – Sep 3

// Thursday, Aug 28

10603527_10152669811512767_5393304902647612824_n

// Friday, Aug 29 

Lee Scratch

Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry | at DEM Passwords

// Saturday, Aug 30

John Knuth | at Five car Garage

// Sunday, Aug 31 

at Bluewhale

Alexander Noice Sextet | at Bluewhale

// Tuesday, Sep 2 10617247_908220632523049_357598867_n

  • LA2050 challenge kicks-off today…. Please support our friends Experimental Half-Hour’s proposal to build LA’s first media lab!  Learn more about their vision to create a community audiovisual center & vote for LA MEDIA LAB here.
    Vote now through Sep 16

// Wednesday, Sep 3

// last-looks  

at 2A Gallery

Patrick Nagel at 2A Gallery

—Follow us to receive an email when Weekly WOAH posts.  Drop us a line to share your event.

Weekly WOAH | Aug 7-13

How-to’s alongside Algo-Rhythms at Sonos Studio

// Thursday, Aug 7

Draftpunk

// Friday, Aug 8

// Saturday, Aug 9 

Blacklisted at Adjunct Positions.

Blacklisted at Adjunct Positions.

// Sunday, Aug 10

// Tuesday, Aug 12

// Wednesday, Aug 13

// last-looks 

Animal Charm at China Art Objects.

Animal Charm at China Art Objects.

Weekly WOAH | July 10-16

// Thursday, July 10 

In The Flesh

In The Flesh at Crowded House.

// Friday, July 11

Experimental Half-Hour at Made In LA.

// Saturday, July 12

// Sunday, July 13

// Monday, July 14

// Tuesday, July 15

Lost & Found Film Club presents Naughty Bits

// Wednesday, July 16

  • Lost & Found Film Club: NAUGHTY BITS, at Cinefamily, West Hollywood.
    Awkward teens, boxing burlesque queens, animated cut-paper penises, and feline fanciers and silly smut… Plus 35mm nudies compiled by 60’s Hollywood projectionists in this series of strange and sticky shorts that are as arousing as they are entertaining.
    10:30pm

// last-looks 

Image: Katie Shapiro | at Stephen Cohen.

—Subscribe to our blog to receive an e-mail when new #whoa posts.  Drop us a line to share your event.  Images courtesy the artist or venue.  99.9% of these events are FREE or hosted by donation-based, not-for-profits—meaning your $ enables the continuation of their happening.  ∞Support them∞

Weekly WOAH | July 3 – 9

Flip City at Steve Turner Contemporary

// Thursday, July 3

  • Jonas Lund: Flip City, at Steve Turner Contemporary, Mid-City.  An exhibition based entirely on what the art market ‘wants?’  Last chance to catch these data-based and produced paintings, each complete with a GPS tracking device so whereabouts can be monitored and archived online here.  #Whoa Disclaimer: You’ll either be left in a state of awe or uninspired abjection.
  • KissMe Lo Maximissimo!, at Human Resources, Chinatown.  Corazon del Sol, Thea Boyanowsky and the Colectivo KissMe present a performance of the mythical world of KissMe Lo Maximissimo. With photos, video, performance, and sound piece by Tyler Adams, and music by B+.  7pm-late.

// Friday, July 4 

Yvonne Rainer’s WAR

// Saturday, July 5

// Sunday, July 6 

KChung TV at Made In LA.

// Tuesday, July 8

Lucky Dragons: Actual Reality at the Hammer

// Wednesday, July 9

// last-looks 

Alex Katz at 356 S. Mission Rd.

—Subscribe to our blog for Weekly WOAH notifications.  Drop us a line to share your event.  Images courtesy the artist or venue listed.  99.9% of the events listed here are FREE or hosted by donation-based, not-for-profits—meaning your $ directly enables the continuation of their happening.  Please spare your change to support them!